Kites and a Quilt Festival

This quilt was a duel effort of love and frustration! I found this free pattern online and shared it with my mom Sylvia. She thought it was great and wanted to make the quilt in twin size and donate it to The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp. The frustration set in when she tried make the kite tops. They are a paper piece patter and she does not know how to paper piece. I offered my help and made to kite tops for her and she sewed and quilted the rest. It was fun to work on a quilt with my Mom and hope to do it again sometime and that is where the love comes from! Click on the photo and you can see the super swirly quilting. It makes the kites look like they are blowing in the wind.

This is my first quilt show entry. I love Amy’s Creative Side and look forward to her quilt festivals. She is hosting Bloggers’ Quilt Festival :: Spring 2011 . There are already 346 wonderful quilt entries. Click the link in blue to visit her site and you will be able to see all of the quilts and read about their stories. If you have a quilt that you would like to enter just hop on over to http://amyscreativeside.com/. There are lots of great giveaways too!

About Nicole Scotina

I am a happily married work at home mom. I have both 2 legged and 4 legged children who keep me very busy. I am a licensed child care provider by day, a quilter at night, and a mom, wife, and daughter 24-7. When the weather is good I try to squeeze in a little time for gardening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kites and a Quilt Festival

  1. Great story! So great that you and your mom made this together. And it’s a great quilt to donate for kids. Sure it will be loved.

  2. Anne says:

    You did capture the wind with the quilting. So nice of you to donate this.

  3. Jessica says:

    My boys would love those kites! Great quilt!

  4. lynette says:

    What a fun quilt! So cheery and happy. This may be a great idea for a baby quilt for my cousin. :D

  5. Pat says:

    Kites! A perfect welcome to spring. Keep up your quilting!

  6. miri says:

    A happy quilt and a happy story! These kites really do seem to flying!

  7. Penny G says:

    I love the quilts and think they would be wonderful for that cute boy about 5 – 9 years old. Yours are great.

  8. mn2nm says:

    I love those kites. I may have to put it on the to-try list!

  9. Karen says:

    It’s great to read that you and your mum worked on this together. Your quilt is bright and colourful. It looks great!

  10. siobhan says:

    What a wonderful happy little quilt :)

  11. Rachaeldaisy says:

    I love your quilt!! It would have been lovely to work a project with your mum. Wonderful quilting too. Thanks for sharing!!

  12. Pingback: Featuring Nicole — A Bloggers’ Quilt Festival Quilter! | Amy's Creative Side

Leave a Reply

