Halloween Happiness

At my quilt guild meeting in October we did a “make it and take it” Halloween embroidery block. I had never done this before and found out that I really enjoyed it! There was a real nice lady that even showed me how to separate the threads and said that I may have better luck with using 2 strands together instead of all 6. Oops! So fast forward to a few days ago when I pulled out the block and decided to finish it. That lead to another one and another one. I went sewing on Friday night and picked out some great new Halloween fabric and my project is almost compleated. I can not show a full picture of it until October because it is a surprise. The president of my quilt guild gave us a challenge to finish off the block, make it into something, and bring it back next October for a show and tell.

Now that all of the embroidery part is done my fingers are itching for more. So I picked up a couple of charm packs of my absolute favorite Moda fabric Sunkissed. I am going to join the online BOM hosted by Little Miss Shabby called Birdie Stitches. If you have not seen them yet you are really missing out!!! They are adorable. Go ahead …..go on over and take a peek….. and I dare you not to want to join in too! http://www.littlemissshabby.com/

Favorite fabric line + embroidery + cutest birdies ever = one very happy girl!

About Nicole Scotina

I am a happily married work at home mom. I have both 2 legged and 4 legged children who keep me very busy. I am a licensed child care provider by day, a quilter at night, and a mom, wife, and daughter 24-7. When the weather is good I try to squeeze in a little time for gardening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween Happiness

  1. Caroll D says:

    Love your Halloween embroidery. Cute! Love those Moda Sunkissed fabrics too! I’m collecting the patterns from Miss Shabby. Just to find the time to make them up!

    • Thank you very much! The grey fabric for the centers of the Birdie Stitches arrived yesterday. I have a piece cut and traced already. I will be stitching later today. It will be hard to have to wait for each new block to be realised every month. Thanks for letting me know, Wayne e-mailed me and asked for a picture. I was happily surprised to hear from him. I said that I will finish it soon and e-mail him a picture. The tesselation I chose was from June 10, 2010. It has taken me almost a whole year! Better late than never. I have too many ideas floating around in my head and not enough time to make them! Happy Quilting!

  2. Karen S says:

    I like your embroider — it’s like redwork done in black. Very nice.

    • Thank you very much. I am new to embroidery and like it so much that I am also making Birdie Stiches fro Little Miss Shabby BOM. I really enjoy taking an old technique and making something modern and fresh with it.

Leave a Reply

