Hugs and Kisses Quilt

I took my 2 1/2 year old daughter Julie to Quilters Common when they were having a fat quarter sale. I was looking through all the gorgeous fabric trying to decide what goodies would be coming home with me. Julie picked out a strawberry fat quarter and announced to everyone in a 5 mile radius  “Strawberries, That’s my favorite!”. I told her we could get that one. Then she pulled out another on and exclaimed “green beans, That’s my favorite!” Well, she ended up with 14 fat quarters and I got to work sewing that night. I looked online and saw a photo of a similar quilt and knew that 0x0x (hugs & kisses) would be the perfect theme for her quilt. I found a great red and white checkered fabric that is covered in ants for the backing. I quilted a large stipple all over. This was my first attempted at free motion quilting so there will be no close ups! I really did have fun making this one and look forward to my next one!

 

Happy Quilting,

Nicole

About Nicole Scotina

I am a happily married work at home mom. I have both 2 legged and 4 legged children who keep me very busy. I am a licensed child care provider by day, a quilter at night, and a mom, wife, and daughter 24-7. When the weather is good I try to squeeze in a little time for gardening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hugs and Kisses Quilt

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. =) I hope your Tuesday Morning has some quilty stuff, too.

    This quilt is so cute! I never would have thought to use food themed fabrics like this! The backing is perfect for it. Great job!

  2. Sharon Camp says:

    What a great idea for a scrappy quilt- perfect for a little lady if quilted in light colors.
    Your work is great.
    Keep quilting!

Leave a comment